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1003

The number assigned to the form all potential customers must complete to apply for a home loan. This application is commonly referred to as �the 1003� and is produced by the Federal government.

Abstract of Judgment

A summary of the essential provisions of a court judgment which, when recorded in the county recorder�s office, creates a lien upon the property of the debtor in that county, both presently owned or after acquired.

Abstract of Title

A historical summary of all the recorded transactions that affect the title to the property. An attorney or a title company will review an abstract of title to determine if there are any problems affecting the title to the property. All such problems must be cleared before the buyer can be issued a clear and insurable title.

Acceleration Clause

Allows the lender to speed up the rate at which your loan comes due or even to demand immediate payment of the entire balance of the loan should you default on you loan.

Acceptance

An offeree's consent to enter into a contract and be bound by the terms of the offer.

Accrued Interest

Interest on a note, bond, etc., which has been earned but not yet paid.

Addendum

An attachment to a contract, deed or other document that incorporates additional terms of information to the original.

Additional Principal Payment

A payment by a borrower of more than the scheduled principal amount due in order to reduce the remaining balance on the loan.

Acre

A measure of land equal to 43,560 square feet.

Adjustable Rate Mortgage Loans (ARM)

Loans with interest rates that are adjusted periodically based on changes in a pre-selected index. As a result, the interest rate on your loan and the monthly payment will rise and fall with increases and decreases in overall interest rates. These mortgage loans must specify how their interest rate changes, usually in terms of a relation to a national index such as (but not always) Treasury bill rates. If interest rates rise, your monthly payments will rise. An interest rate cap limits the amount by which the interest rate can change; look for this feature when you consider an ARM loan.

Adjustable-Rate Rider

A rider is an addition to a security instrument. The adjustable-rate rider outlines terms and conditions specific to an adjustable-rate loan. It must be recorded along with the security instrument at the county recorder�s office.

Adjusted Basis

The original cost of a property plus the value of any capital expenditures for improvements to the property minus any depreciation taken.

Adjustment Date

The date on which the interest rate changes for an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

Adjustment Period

This is the length of time for which the interest rate is fixed on an adjustable. Therefore if the adjustment period is six months, then the interest rate will remain fixed for six months, after which time it will adjust.

Agreement of Sale

A written signed agreement between the seller and the purchaser in which the purchaser agrees to buy certain real estate and the seller agrees to sell upon terms of the agreement. Also known as contract of purchase, purchase agreement, offer and acceptance, earnest money contract or sales agreement.

Affidavits

As part of the closing process, you're likely to sign numerous affidavits. You may be required, for example, to sign an affidavit of occupancy. It states that you will use the property as a principal residence. Or, you and the seller may have to sign an affidavit stating all of the improvements to the property required in the sales contract were completed before closing.

ALTA

An acronym for American Land Title Association. Commonly used in reference to a particular type of Title policy.

American Land Title Association (ALTA)

An organization composed of title insurance companies, which has adopted certain insurance policy forms to standardize title insurance coverage on a national basis.

Amortization

Payment of debt in regular, periodic installments of principal and interest, as opposed to interest only payments. Amortization is the process of reducing principal and interest in equal installment payments at specific intervals over a set term. For example, a fully amortized loan payment is a portion of which will be applied to pay the accruing interest on the loan with the remainder being applied to principal. Over time, the interest portion decreases as the loan balance decreases and the amount applied to principal increases so that the loan is paid off in the specified term .

Amortization Schedule

A timetable for payment of a mortgage loan. An amortization schedule shows the amount of each payment applied to interest and principal and shows the remaining balance after each payment is made.

Amortization Term

The amount of time required to amortize the mortgage loan. The amortization term is expressed as a number of months. For example, for a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage, the amortization term is 360 months.

Amount Financed

This figure is used to calculate your APR. It represents your loan amount minus any prepaid finance charges and assumes you will keep the loan to maturity and make only the required monthly payments.

Annual Mortgagor Statement

A report sent to the mortgagor each year. The report shows how much was paid in taxes and interest during the year, as well as the remaining mortgage loan balance at the end of the year.

Annual Percentage Rate (APR)

The annual cost of a loan to a borrower. Like an interest rate, the APR is expressed as a percentage of the loan amount. Unlike an interest rate, however, it includes other charges or fees to reflect the total cost of the loan. The Federal Truth in Lending Act requires that every consumer loan agreement disclose the APR in large, bold print. Since all lenders must follow the same rules to ensure the accuracy of the APR, borrowers can use the APR as a good basis for comparing the cost of loans.

Annuity

Fixed payments an individual receives for a lifetime or specified number of years at consistent intervals. For example, a customer may receive an annuity from a pension plan or from an investment.

Appraisal

An appraisal is a written analysis of the estimated value of your property. A qualified appraiser who has knowledge, experience and insight into the marketplace prepares the document. It demonstrates approximate fair market value based on recent sales in your neighborhood and is required to purchase or refinance your new home or property.

Appraisal Fee

A fee charged by a licensed, certified appraiser to provide an appraisal.

Appraiser

A person qualified by education, training, and experience to estimate the value of real property and personal property.

Appreciation

An increase in the value of a property due to changes in market conditions or other causes. The opposite of depreciation.

As Is Condition

Premises accepted by a buyer or tenant in the condition existing at the time of the sale or lease, including all physical defects.

Assessment

A local tax levied against a property for a specific purpose, such as road or sidewalk construction or sewer or street light installation.

Assessment Report

Report that appraisers use to record property values, marketability analyses and any pertinent comments regarding the subject property. Assessment reports are classified as appraisal reports or inspection reports.

Assessment Upgrade

Approved recommendation from an appraiser that you must use a more comprehensive type of assessment. An example of an upgrade recommendation includes any adverse/atypical findings or other atypical property or neighborhood condition observed by the appraiser. You must also upgrade an assessment when its value does not support the loan transaction; the appraiser is unable to view the subject property from the public street; the assessment is "subject to" completion; or repair or property rights are leasehold.

Asset

Anything of monetary value that is owned by a person. Assets include real property, personal property, and enforceable claims against others (including bank accounts, stocks, mutual funds, and so on).

Assignment

The transfer of ownership, rights, or interests in property by one person, the assignor, to another, the assignee.

Assumable Mortgage

A mortgage loan which allows a new home buyer to take over the obligation of making loan payments with no change in the terms of the loan. Assumable loans do not have a due-on-sale clause. The lender has to be notified and agree to the assumption. The lender may require the buyer to qualify for the loan and may charge an assumption fee. The seller should obtain a written release from the lender stating clearly that he/she is no longer liable to make mortgage payments.

Assumption

An act that occurs when the buyer of a property assumes the seller's debt or obligation without obtaining new financing. This must be approved by the lender and be permitted under the terms of the note that the seller executed with the lender.

Assumption Fee

The assumption fee is the amount paid to a lender resulting from a buyer taking over the payments on a seller�s existing loan. The purchaser of the property usually pays this fee.

Attachment

A legal process whereby the judgment creditor may obtain a lien against the debtor�s property.

Attorney in Fact

A person given the authority to act on behalf of another under a power of attorney.

Automated Underwriting

Automated underwriting is used to offer instant decisioning regarding your loan request. Automated underwriting is similar to instant offer service. You are usually required to provide additional information to the lender to close your loan. Back to Index

Balance Sheet

A document showing the financial situation--assets, liabilities, and net worth--of a company at a specific point in time.

Balloon Mortgage

Balloon mortgage loans are short-term fixed-rate loans with fixed monthly payments for a set number of years followed by one large final balloon payment for all of the remainder of the principal. Typically, the balloon payment may be due at the end of five, seven, or ten years. Borrowers with balloon loans may have the right to refinance the loan when the balloon payment is due, but the right to refinance is not guaranteed.

Balloon Payment

The final lump sum payment that is made at the maturity date of a balloon mortgage.

Bankruptcy

The financial inability to pay one's debts when due. The debtor surrenders his assets to the bankruptcy court. An individual typically files for Chapter 7 (all debts wiped out) or Chapter 13 (establishes a payment plan to pay off debts). A bankruptcy stays on an individual's credit report for 7 years.

Basis Point

A basis point is 1/100th of a percentage point. For example, a fee calculated as 50 basis points of a loan amount of $100,000 would be 0.50% or $500.

Beneficiary

The person designated to receive the income from a trust, estate, or a deed of trust.

Binder

A preliminary agreement, secured by the payment of earnest money, between a buyer and seller as an offer to purchase real estate. A binder secures the right to purchase real estate upon agreed terms for a limited period of time. If the buyer changes his mind or is unable to purchase, the earnest money is forfeited unless the binder expressly provides that it is to be refunded.

Bi-weekly Mortgage

A mortgage which requires 1/2 the normal monthly payment every two weeks. Over the course of the year, 26 half payments are made which is equivalent to 13 full mortgage payments. As a result of this extra payment the loan amortizes much faster than a loan with normal monthly payments.

Blanket Mortgage

A mortgage covering at least two or more pieces of real estate, both of which together serve as collateral for the loan.

Bond

An interest-bearing certificate of debt with a maturity date. An obligation of a government or business corporation. A real estate bond is a written obligation usually secured by a mortgage or a deed of trust.

Borrower (Mortgagor)

An individual who applies for and receives funds in the form of a loan and is obligated to repay the loan in full under the terms of the loan.

Bridge Loan

An interim loan typically used when the buyer is unable to sell his/her house but needs money to close the transaction on the house he/she is buying. The bridge loan is made on the buyers current residence to finance the buyers new residence. The loan is paid off when the buyers current residence is sold.

Broker

An individual who assists in arranging funding or negotiating contracts for a client but does not loan money himself.

Buydown

When the lender and/or the home builder subsidizes the mortgage by lowering the interest rate during the first few years of the loan. While the payments are initially low, they will increase when the subsidy expires. Back to Index

Call Option

A provision of a note that allows the lender to require repayment of the loan in full before the end of the loan term. The option may be exercised due to breach of the terms of the loan or at the discretion of the lender.

Capacity

Your ability to make your mortgage payments on time. This depends on your income and income stability, your assets and reserves, and the amount of your income each month that is available after you have paid for your housing costs, debts and other obligations.

Caps (interest)

Consumer safeguards that limit the amount the interest rate on an adjustable rate mortgage can change in an adjustment interval and/or over the life of the loan. For example, if your per-period cap is 1% and your current rate is 7%, then your newly adjusted rate must fall between 6% and 8% regardless of actual changes in the index.

Cash Out

Any cash received when you get a new loan that is larger than the remaining balance of your current mortgage, based upon the equity you have already built up in the house. The cash out amount is calculated by subtracting the sum of the old loan and fees from the new mortgage loan.

For example, if your existing loan is $100,000, you might refinance it with a loan of $120,000. After you pay off your current loan ($100,000) and any loan-origination costs for the new loan (for example $2,000 in points), you would be left with $18,000 cash out.

Cash-out loans may not be available for all types of property.

Certificate of Eligibility

The document given to qualified veterans which entitles them to VA guaranteed loans for homes, business, and mobile homes. Certificates of eligibility may be obtained by sending DD-214 (Separation Paper) to the local VA office with VA form 1880 (request for Certificate of Eligibility).

Certificate of Occupancy

Document issued by a local governmental agency that states a property meets the local building standards for occupancy and is in compliance with public health and building codes. This document is normally required by a lender prior to closing the loan.

Certificate of Reasonable Value

An appraisal issued by the Veterans Administration showing the property's current market value.

Certificate of Title

A certificate issued by a title company or a written opinion by an attorney that the seller has good marketable and insurable title to the property which he is offering for sale. A certificate of title offers no protection against any hidden defects in the title which an examination of the records could not reveal. The issuer of a certificate of title is liable only for damages due to negligence.

Certificate of Veteran Status

The document given to veterans or reservists who have served 90 days of continuous active duty (including training time). It may be obtained by sending DD 214 to the local VA office with form 26-8261a (request for certificate of veteran status). This document enables veterans to obtain lower down payments on certain FHA insured loans.

Chain of Title

The chronological order of conveyance of a parcel of land from the original owner to the present owner.

Example : An abstractor can research title to property going back to the date that the property was granted to the United States.

Change Frequency

The frequency (in months) of payment and/or interest rate changes in an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

Clear Title

A title that is free of liens or legal questions as to ownership of the property.

Closing

The meeting between the buyer, seller and lender or their agents where the property and funds legally change hands. Also called settlement. Closing costs usually include an origination fee, discount points, appraisal fee, title search and insurance, survey, taxes, deed recording fee, credit report charge and other costs assessed at settlement. The costs of closing usually are about 3 percent to 6 percent of the mortgage amount.

Closing Agent

Neutral third party appointed to act as a custodian for documents and funds during the transfer of property from seller to buyer. Depending on local law and custom, this could be an attorney, escrow agent or title company.

Closing Costs

Also known as settlement costs, these costs are for services that must be performed to process and close your loan application. Examples include title fees, recording fees, appraisal fee, credit report fee, pest inspection, attorney's fees, taxes, and surveying fees.

Closing Statement

A statement required by Federal law (the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act) that itemizes all changes imposed on the borrower and seller (if any) in connection with a mortgage secured loan transaction. Also known as a settlement statement, HUD-1 or HUD-1A

Cloud on Title

Any conditions revealed by a title search that adversely affect the title to real estate. Usually clouds on title cannot be removed except by a quitclaim deed, release, or court action.

Collateral

An asset (such as a car or a home) that guarantees the repayment of a loan. The borrower risks losing the asset if the loan is not repaid according to the terms of the loan contract.

Combined Loan-to-Value (CLTV)

The unpaid principal balances of all the mortgages on a property (first and second usually) divided by the property's appraised value.

Commission

Money paid to a real estate agent or broker for negotiating a real estate or loan transaction.

Commitment

A promise by a lender to make a loan on specific terms or conditions to a borrower or builder. A promise by an investor to purchase mortgages from a lender with specific terms or conditions. An agreement, often in writing, between a lender and a borrower to loan money at a future date, subject to the completion of paperwork or compliance with stated conditions.

 
Comparables

An abbreviation for "comparable properties"; used for comparative purposes in the appraisal process. Comparables are properties like the property under consideration; they have reasonably the same size, location, and amenities and have recently been sold. Comparables help the appraiser determine the approximate fair market value of the subject property.

 
Comparative Market Analysis

An informal estimate of market value that a real estate agent or broker calculates based on sales of comparable properties. An appraisal or a comparative market analysis are the most accurate ways to determine what your home is worth.

Compound Interest

Interest which is calculated not only on the initial principal but also the accumulated interest of prior periods.

Condemnation

The determination that a building is not fit for use or is dangerous and must be destroyed; the taking of private property for a public purpose through an exercise of the right of eminent domain.

Conforming Loan

Any loan that meets the criteria and limits set forth by the largest buyers of loans, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac.

Consideration

Anything of value given to induce another to enter into a contract. Earnest money deposit on a sales contract is consideration.

Construction Loan

A short-term, interim loan for financing the cost of construction. The lender makes payments to the builder at periodic intervals as the work progresses.

Contingency

A condition that must be met before a contract is legally binding. For example, home purchasers often include a contingency that specifies that the contract is not binding until the purchaser obtains a satisfactory home inspection report from a qualified home inspector.

Contract

An agreement between competent parties to do or not do certain things for consideration.

Example : To have a valid contract for the sale of real estate there must be :
  • An Offer
  • An Acceptance
  • Competent Parties
  • Consideration
  • Legal Purpose
  • Written Documentation
  • Description of the property
  • Signatures by principals or their attorney-in-fact>


Contract of Sale

The agreement between the buyer and seller on the purchase price, terms, and conditions of a sale.

Contractor

A person who contracts to erect buildings. There are also contractors for each phase of construction: heating, electrical, plumbing, air conditioning, road building and others.

Conventional Loan

Loans that are not made under any government housing program; they are not subject to the restrictions of government housing programs, such as loan size limits.

Conversion Clause

A provision in some ARMs that allows you to change an ARM to a fixed-rate loan, usually after the first adjustment period. The new fixed rate will be set at current rates, and there may be a charge for the conversion feature.

Conveyance

The written instrument by which title to real property is transferred from one party to another.

Cost of Funds Index (COFI)  

A common index used in adjustable rate loans based on the weighted-average interest rate paid for deposits by savings institutions that are members of the 11th Federal Home Loan Bank District.

Covenant

A clause in a mortgage that obligates or restricts the borrower and that, if violated, can result in foreclosure.

Credit

The ability of a person to borrow money, or obtain goods with payments over time, as a consequence of the favorable opinion held by a lender as to the person's financial situation and reliability.

Credit Bureau

A credit bureau is a clearinghouse for credit history information. Credit grantors provide the bureau with factual information on how their credit customers pay their bills. The bureau regularly assembles this information, along with public record information obtained from courthouses around the country, into a "file" on each consumer.

Credit Ratio

The ratio, expressed as a percentage, which results when a borrower's monthly payment obligation on long-term debts is divided by his or her net income (FHA/VA loans) or gross monthly income (Conventional loans).

Credit Report

A report detailing a borrower�s credit history including payment history on revolving accounts (e.g. credit cards) and installment accounts (e.g. car loan). A credit report also includes information found from public records including tax liens and judgments.

Credit Score

A numerical assessment assigned to the customer by credit bureaus that represents a measurement of the customer�s overall credit rating. The scores are weighted and range from approximately 365 to 840. Low scores reflect a �high risk�, while higher scores reflect a �lower risk�. Each credit bureau has its own credit score system.

Creditor

An individual or entity to whom money is owed.

Creditworthy

Your ability to qualify for credit and repay debts.

Current Value Index

Your current index value is the index that is used to figure your interest adjustment on ARMs.

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Debt

A sum of money owed from one person or institution to another person or institution.

Debt-to-Income Ratio

The percentage of gross monthly income that goes toward paying for your monthly housing expense, installment debts, alimony, child support, car payments, and payments on revolving or open-ended accounts such as credit cards.

Deed

A formal written instrument by which title to real property is transferred from one owner to another. The deed should contain an accurate description of the property being conveyed, should be signed and witnessed according to the laws of the State where the property is located, and should be delivered to the purchaser at closing day. There are two parties to a deed: the grantor and the grantee.

Deed of Trust

Used in many states in lieu of a mortgage to secure the payment of a note. In a deed of trust there are three parties - the borrower, the trustee, and the lender, (or beneficiary). In such a transaction, the borrower transfers the legal title for the property to the trustee who holds the property in trust as security for the payment of the debt to the lender or beneficiary. If the borrower pays the debt as agreed, the deed of trust becomes void. If, however, he/she defaults in the payment of the debt, the trustee may sell the property without a court proceeding.

Deed Restriction

A clause in a deed that limits the use of land.

Default

Failure to meet legal obligations in a contract, including failure to make payments on a loan. A mortgage is generally considered to be in default when a payment is 30 days past due.

Defective Title

Any recorded instrument that would prevent a grantor/seller from giving a clear title.

Example : The seller has a contractor lien on the property that was filed when he/she failed to pay the contractor for the kitchen remodel. The seller may obtain clear title by paying the contractor and removing the lien.

Deferred Interest

Occurs when your monthly payments are not large enough to pay all the interest due on the loan. This unpaid interest is added to the unpaid balance of the loan. The danger of deffering your interest is that the buyer ends up owing more than the original amount of the loan. Also called Negative Amortization.

Deferred Maintenance

Repairs necessary to restore a property to good condition.

Deficiency Judgment

Personal claim against the debtor when the sale of foreclosed property does not yield sufficient proceeds to pay off the mortgages, accrued interest, legal fees, etc.

Delinquency

Failure to make payments on time. This can lead to foreclosure.

Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

An independent agency of the federal government which guarantees long-term, low-or no-down payment mortgages to eligible veterans.

Depreciation

A decline in the value of a home due to changing market conditions, decline of a neighborhood or lack of upkeep on a home.

Disclosure Statement

A statement required by law, in which sellers of particular kinds of property or under certain circumstances, must reveal specified information to potential buyers.

Discount Points

Additional points you can pay a lender to lower the interest rate on your loan at closing. Each point is equal to 1 percent of the loan amount (e.g. two points on a $100,000 mortgage would cost $2,000). Also referred to as Points.

Documentary Stamps 

A state tax, in the forms of stamps, required on deeds and mortgages when real estate title passes from one owner to another.

Downpayment

A portion of the price of a home, usually between 3-20%, not borrowed and paid upfront.

Due-on-Sale Clause

Provision in a mortgage or deed of trust allowing the lender to demand immediate payment of the loan balance upon sale of the property.

Dragnet Clause

A provision in a mortgage that pledges several properties as collateral. A default in the mortgage could lead to foreclosure proceedings on any of the properties in the dragnet.

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Earnest Money Deposit

The deposit you make to show that you are committed to buying the home. The deposit will not be refunded to you after the seller accepts your offer, unless one of the sales contract contingencies is not satisfied.

Easement

A right of way giving persons other than the owner access to or over a property.

ECOA

See Equal Credit Opportunity Act

Effective Age

Age of a structure based upon its present condition rather than actual age. Takes into account rehabilitation and maintenance.

Eminent Domain

The right of the government or a public utility to acquire property for necessary public use by condemnation, with proper compensation to the owner.

Encroachment

A building, a part of a building, or an obstruction (e.g.. a fence or a wall) that physically intrudes upon or overlaps into the property of another.

Encumbrance

A legal right or interest in land that affects a good or clear title, and diminishes the land's value. It can take numerous forms, such as zoning ordinances, easement rights, claims, mortgages, liens, charges, a pending legal action, unpaid taxes, or restrictive covenants. An encumbrance does not legally prevent transfer of the property to another. A title search is all that is usually done to reveal the existence of such encumbrances, and it is up to the buyer to determine whether he wants to purchase with the encumbrance, or what can be done to remove it.

Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA)

A Federal act passed in 1974 that prohibits discrimination in lending on the basis of sex, marital status, race, color, religion, national origin, age or receipt of public assistance.

Equity
The value in your home above the total amount of the liens against your home. If you owe $100,000 on your house but it is worth $130,000, you have $30,000 of equity.

Equity Line of Credit
A combination of a line of credit and equity loan secured by real property. A maximum loan amount is established based on credit and equity. A mortgage is recorded against the potential borrower�s property for said maximum loan amount. The potential borrower has the right to borrow, as needed, up to the amount of the credit line.

Equity Loan
A loan based on the borrower's equity in his or her home.

Escrow
Refers to a neutral third party who carries out the instructions of both the buyer and seller to handle all the paperwork of settlement or "closing." Escrow may also refer to an account held by the lender into which the homebuyer pays money for tax or insurance payments.

Escrow Account
An account held by the lender to which the borrower pays monthly installments, collected as part of the monthly mortgage payment, for annual expenses such as taxes and insurance. The lender disburses escrow account funds on behalf of the borrower when they become due. Also known as Impound Account.

Estimated Closing Fees
An estimate of the fees that must be paid on or before the closing date by the buyer and/or seller for services, taxes and items necessary to obtain mortgage. These fees will average between 2% and 5% of the loan amount and vary by lender, property location, and type of mortgage.

Examination of Title
The report on the title of a property from the public records or an abstract of the title.

Executor
A person named in a will to administer an estate. The court will appoint an administrator if no executor is named. "Executrix" is the feminine form.

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Fair Credit Reporting Act

A consumer protection law that regulates the disclosure of consumer credit reports by consumer/credit reporting agencies and establishes procedures for correcting mistakes on one's credit record.

Fair Market Value

The highest price that a buyer, willing but not compelled to buy, would pay, and the lowest a seller, willing but not compelled to sell, would accept.

Fannie Mae

A tax-paying corporation created by Congress that purchases and sells conventional residential mortgages as well as those insured by FHA or guaranteed by VA. This institution, which provides funds for one in seven mortgages, makes mortgage money more available and more affordable. Also Referred to as Federal National Mortgage Association.

Farmer's Home Administration (FmHA)

An agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, that provides financing for purchasers of homes and farms in small towns and rural areas.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)

Independent deposit insurance agency created by Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's banking system.

Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC)

Also called Freddie Mac, is a quasi-governmental agency that purchases conventional mortgages from insured depository institutions and HUD-approved mortgage bankers.

Federal Housing Administration (FHA)

An agency of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Its main activity is the insuring of residential mortgage loans made by private lenders. The FHA sets standards for construction and underwriting but does not lend money or plan or construct housing.

Federal Reserve Board

The 7-member Board of Governors that oversees Federal Reserve Banks, establishes monetary policy (interest rates, credit, etc.), and monitors the economic health of the country. Its members are appointed by the President subject to Senate confirmation, and serve 14-year terms. also called the Fed.

Federal Tax Lien

A lien attaching to a property for nonpayment of a Federal tax. A Federal tax lien differs from other liens in that it�s not automatically eliminated by a senior lien holder foreclosing on a mortgage or trust deed recorded before the tax lien.

Fee Simple (Fee Absolute or Fee Simple Absolute)

Absolute ownership of real property; owner is entitled to the entire property with unconditional power of disposition during the owners life and upon his death the property descends to the owner's designated heirs.

FHA Loans

Fixed- or adjustable-rate loans insured by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. FHA loans are designed to make housing more affordable, particularly for first-time homebuyers. FHA loans typically permit borrowers to buy a home with a lower down payment than conventional loans. With FHA insurance, eligible buyers can purchase a home with a down payment of as little as 3% of the appraised value or the purchase price-whichever is lower. FHA borrowers typically are required to participate in a face-to-face meeting with their lender or a government approved mortgage counselor prior to closing on a new mortgage loan. The current FHA loan limits vary depending on home type and home location.

FHA Mortgage Insurance

Requires a small fee (up to 3 percent of the loan amount) paid at closing or a portion of this fee added to each monthly payment of an FHA loan to insure the loan with FHA. On a 9.5 percent $75,000 30-year fixed-rate FHA loan, this fee would amount t o either $2,250 at closing or an extra $31 a month for the life of the loan. In addition, FHA mortgage insurance requires an annual fee of 0.5 percent of the current loan amount, the more years the fee must be paid.

FICO

The most common credit-scoring model used by lenders, it is also known as a Fair, Isaac score. Your FICO can range from 200 to 900. According to this model, the higher your score, the less likely you are to default on your loan.

Fiduciary

A person in a position of trust or responsibility with specific duties to act in the best interest of a client. A real estate broker is a fiduciary for his/her clients.

Filing Fees

The amount charged by public officials in your area for recording your mortgage and other documents.

Finance Charge

Your finance charge is the total of all the interest you would pay over the entire life of the loan, assuming you kept the loan to maturity, as well as all prepaid finance charges. If you pre-pay any principal during your loan, your monthly payments remain the same, but your total finance charge will be reduced.

First Adjustment

When you can expect the first rate adjustment in your ARM loan.

First Mortgage

A mortgage that has priority as a lien over all other mortgages. In the case of a foreclosure the first mortgage will be satisfied before other mortgages.

Fixed Income

Income of a specified and consistent value that is received at specified and consistent intervals. Types of fixed income include social security benefits, VA benefits, pension income, permanent disability benefits, welfare/aid income and child support/alimony.

Fixed-Rate Loans

Fixed-rate loans have interest rates that do not change over the life of the loan. As a result, monthly payments for principal and interest are also fixed for the life of the loan. Fixed-rate loans typically have 15-year or 30-year terms. With a fixed-rate loan, you will have predictable monthly mortgage payments for as long as you have the loan.

Fixture

Personal property that becomes real property when attached in a permanent manner to real estate.

Float

Until you request to secure a lender's quoted interest rate, the interest rate will continue to change, or float, due to market fluctuations. Locking or securing a rate protects you from these potential fluctuations from the time your lock is confirmed to the day your lock period expires. You may choose to float your rate up until the time your lender contacts you to schedule your closing. At this time, an interest rate must be secured in order to prepare your closing documents.

Flood Insurance

Insurance that compensates for physical property damage resulting from flooding. It is required for properties located in federally designated flood areas.

Forbearance

Grace period given when a lender postpones foreclosure to give the borrower time to catch up on overdue payments.

Foreclosure

The legal process by which a borrower in default under a mortgage is deprived of his or her interest in the mortgaged property. This usually involves a forced sale of the property at public auction

Free and Clear

Real property against which there are no liens, especially voluntary liens. n with the proceeds of the sale being applied to the mortgage debt.

Freddie Mac

See Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation

Fully Amortized ARM

An adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) with a monthly payment that is sufficient to amortize the remaining balance, at the interest accrual rate, over the amortization term.

Fully Indexed Rate

The fully indexed rate is equal to the rate index plus the loan�s margin and is used with adjustable-rate mortgages. Example: If LIBOR is 6.50% and the margin on the loan is 4.00%, the fully indexed rate is 10.50%.

Funding

The disbursement of loan funds, either by check or by wire transfer to the title company.

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General Warranty Deed

A deed which conveys not only all the grantor's interests in and title to the property to the grantee, but also warrants that if the title is defective or has a "cloud" on it (such as mortgage claims, tax liens, title claims, judgments, or mechanic's liens against it) the grantee may hold the grantor liable.

Ginnie Mae

Provides sources of funds for residential mortgages, insured or guaranteed by FHA or VA.. Also referred to as Government National Mortgage Association.

Good Faith Estimate

Written estimate of the settlement costs the borrower will likely have to pay at closing. Under the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA), the lender is required to provide this disclosure to the borrower within three days of receiving a loan application.

Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA)

See Ginnie Mae.

Grace Period

Period of time during which a loan payment may be made after its due date without incurring a late penalty. The grace period is specified as part of the terms of the loan in the Note.

Graduated Payment Mortgage (GPM)

A type of flexible-payment mortgage where the payments increase for a specified period of time and then level off. This type of mortgage has negative amortization built into it.

Grantee

The party in the deed who is the buyer or recipient.

Grantor

The party in the deed who is the seller or giver.

Gross Monthly Income

The income you earn in a month before taxes and other deductions. Under certain circumstances, it may also include rental income, self-employed income, income from alimony, child support, public assistance payments, and retirement benefits.

Guarantee or Guaranty

A promise by one party to pay a debt or perform an obligation contracted by another in the event of that person's default.

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Hazard Insurance

A policy that protects the insured against loss due to fire or certain natural disasters in exchange for a premium paid to the insurer. Also known as Home Owner�s Insurance or fire insurance.

Holdback

A portion of a mortgage loan held back by the lender from the customer until a contingency is met by the customer. An example of a contingency would be repairs needed for a property�s roof. Upon completing the required repairs, the lender releases the held back funds to the borrower.

Home Equity Line of Credit

A credit line that is secured by a second deed of trust on a house. Equity lines of credit are revolving accounts that work like a credit card, which can be paid down or charged up for the term of the loan. The minimum payment due each month is interest only.

Home Equity Loan

A loan in real estate property that is used to secure or guarantee the amount borrowed. Sometimes referred to as a second mortgage or borrowing against your home. The loan allows you to tap into your home's built-up equity, which is the difference between the amount your home could be sold for, and any claims held against it. People often use a home equity loan for home improvements or to pay for a new car. A home equity loan is a good way to borrow money for two main reasons. First, the interest rate is usually one of the lowest loan rates a borrower can get. Also, the interest you pay on the loan is usually tax-deductible. But taking out a home equity loan also means the lender can take possession of the home if the loan isn't repaid. This is why some people decide to not borrow against their home, and may decide to take out a personal loan. But for many borrowers, a home equity loan can be the best loan option. Your best loan option is the loan that best meets your needs.

Home Inspection

A professional inspection of a home to review the condition of the property. The inspection should include an evaluation of the plumbing, heating and cooling systems, roof, wiring, foundation and pest infestation.

Homeowners Association

An association of homeowners in a particular subdivision, planned unit development (PUD), or condominium organized to manage the common area of the development and to enforce the association rules and regulations.

Homeowners Insurance

Just as you insure your automobile to protect against theft and damage, you insure your home. Homeowners insurance is required by all lenders to protect their investment, and must be obtained before closing. In most cases, coverage must be equal to the loan balance, or the value of the home.

Homeowner's Warranty (HOW)

A type of insurance that covers repairs to specified parts of a house for a specific period of time. It is provided by the builder or property seller as a condition of the sale.

Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

A U.S. government agency established to implement federal housing and community development programs; oversees the Federal Housing Administration.

Housing Code 

Local government ordinance that sets minimum standards of safety and sanitation for existing residential buildings.

Housing Expenses-to-Income Ratio

The ratio, expressed as a percentage, which results when a borrower's housing expenses are divided by his/her net effective income (FHA/VA loans) or gross monthly income (Conventional loans).

HUD-1 statement

A document that provides an itemized listing of the funds that are payable at closing. Items that appear on the statement include real estate commissions, loan fees, points, and initial escrow amounts. Each item on the statement is represented by a separate number within a standardized numbering system. The totals at the bottom of the HUD-1 statement define the seller's net proceeds and the buyer's net payment at closing. The blank form for the statement is published by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The HUD-1 statement is also known as the "closing statement" or "settlement sheet."

Hypothecate

To pledge a property as security without having to give up possession of it.

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Impound Account

An impound account is an account established by the lender to pay a borrower's tax and insurance costs. The borrower's monthly mortgage payment is then increased to cover these costs, with the additional amount being held in the impound account and disbursed by the lender when the payments are due. Lenders typically prefer this arrangement because it reduces the possibility of a lapse in tax or insurance payments that could diminish the value of the lender's investment (your house). Therefore, while it is often possible to opt out of an impound account it will result in additional charges.

Index

Most lenders generally tie adjustable rate mortgage loan (ARM)interest rate changes to an "index." An index is a widely published rate such as LIBOR, T-Bill, or 11th District Cost of Funds (COFI). Lenders use these indices to establish the interest rates charged on mortgage loans. For ARMs, a predetermined margin is added to the index to compute the interest rate adjustment.

Initial Cap

Consumer safeguard that limits the amount the interest rate on an adjustable rate mortgage can change during the first adjustment period.

Initial Interest Rate

The initial interest rate is the rate you pay when you first get your loan. On an ARM, this rate may be for 5 years (5/1 ARM) or only a month.

Inquiry

A request for a copy of your credit report. An inquiry occurs every time you fill out a credit application and/or request more credit. Too many inquiries on a credit report can lower your credit score.

Installment

The regular periodic payment that a borrower agrees to make to a lender. The installment is more often referred to as your monthly mortgage payment.

Interest

The cost you pay to borrow money. It is the payment you make to a lender for the money it has lent to you. Interest is usually expressed as a percentage of the amount borrowed.

Interest Accrual Rate

The percentage rate at which interest accrues on the mortgage. In most cases, it is also the rate used to calculate the monthly payments, although it is not used for an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) with payment change limitations.

Interest Cost

Interest cost shows how much you will pay in interest over the life of the loan, assuming you keep the loan for the entire period.

Interest Due

Interest due is the portion of the mortgage payment that goes toward interest. When you close on your home, you will usually owe interest for the time between your closing date and when you make your first payment.

Interest Only Loan Option

Loan payments have two components, principal and interest. An interest-only loan has no principal component for a specified period of time. These special loans minimize your monthly payments by eliminating the need to pay down your balance during the interest-only period, giving you greater cash flow control and/or increased purchasing power.

Interest Rate

The annual rate of interest on the loan, expressed as a percentage of 100.

Interest Rate Adjustment Period

The interest rate adjustment period is how often your rate is adjusted on an ARM after the initial rate period is over. For example, a 5/1 ARM means you have an initial rate period of 5 years that is fixed and then after 5 years, your rate changes every year.

Interest Rate Ceiling

For an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM), the maximum interest rate, as specified in the mortgage note.

Interest Rate Floor

For an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM), the minimum interest rate, as specified in the mortgage note.

Interest Rate Increase Cap

The interest rate increase cap is the maximum allowable increase in your interest rate (on an ARM) each time your rate is adjusted. It is usually 1 or 2 percentage points. For example, if your rate adjusts every year, each year it cannot exceed the stated cap.

Investment Income

Money earned from investments of money, such as stock dividends and annuity payments.

Involuntary Lien

A lien imposed against property by law or legal action without the consent of an owner. Examples include taxes, special assessments, federal income tax liens, judgment liens, mechanics liens and materials liens.

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Joint Liability

Liability shared among two or more people, each of whom is liable for the full debt.

Joint Tenancy

The ownership of property by two or more persons with the survivor taking the share of the deceased.

Judgement

The decision of a court of law stating that one individual is indebted to another and fixing the amount of indebtedness. Judgements, when recorded, become a lien on real property owned by the defendant.

Judgement Lien

The claim on the property of a debtor resulting from a judgement.

Judicial Foreclosure

A court supervised foreclosure process used in states using a mortgage or security deed.

Jumbo Loan

A loan which is larger (more than $240,000) than the limits set by the Federal National Mortgage Association and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation. Because jumbo loans cannot be funded by these two agencies, they usually carry a higher interest rate.

Junior Mortgage

A mortgage subordinate or secondary to another mortgage. In the case of a foreclosure, a senior mortgage will be paid first.

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Kicker

A payment required by a mortgage in addition to normal principal and interest. Sometimes known as a participation loan.

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Land Contract

A real estate installment selling arrangement whereby the buyer may use and occupy land, but no deed is given by seller until the sales price has been paid.

Late Charge

The penalty a borrower must pay when a payment is made a stated number of days (usually 15) after the due date.

Lease with Option to Purchase

A lease under which the lessee has the right to purchase the property. The option may run for a portion or for the full length of the lease

Lender

Company that performs the functions necessary to complete a mortgage transaction. Lenders include approved sellers, mortgage brokers, and third-party originators (TPOs).

Liabilities

A person's financial obligations. Liabilities include long-term and short-term debt, as well as any other amounts that are owed to others.

LIBOR

LIBOR stands for London Inter-Bank Offered Rate. This is a favorable interest rate offered for U.S. dollar deposits between a group of London banks. There are several different LIBOR rates, defined by the maturity of their deposit. The LIBOR is an international index that follows world economic conditions. LIBOR-indexed ARMs offer borrowers aggressive initial rates and have proven to be competitive with popular ARM indexes like the Treasury bill.

Lien

A claim or charge on property for payment of some debt. With respect to a mortgage, it is the right of the lender to take the title to your property if you do not make the payments due on the mortgage.

Lifetime Interest Rate Cap

The highest interest rate that can be charged for an adjustable rate mortgage during the life of the loan.

Liquid Assets

Cash or assets, such as checking/savings accounts, stocks/bonds, that are immediately convertible to cash.

Lis Pendens

Latin for "lawsuit pending." Recorded notice that litigation is pending on a property. Most lenders will require the clearance of the Lis Pendens prior to closing.

Loan Application

Document required by lenders prior to loan approval containing detailed information about the borrower and property.

Loan Application Fee

Fee charged by a lender to cover the initial costs of processing a loan application. The fee may include the cost of obtaining a property appraisal, a credit report, and a lock-in fee or other closing costs incurred during the process or the fee may be in addition to these charges.

Loan origination fee or points

Charge by a lender or broker connected with originating a loan. This is different from discount points which are used to buy down the rate of interest.

Loan Servicing

The act of collecting loan payments, handling property tax and insurance escrows, foreclosing on defaulted loans and remitting payments to the investors.

Loan-To-Value (LTV) Percentage

The relationship between the principal balance of the mortgage and the appraised value (or sales price if it is lower) of the property. For example, a $100,000 home with an $80,000 mortgage has a LTV percentage of 80 percent.

Lock or Lock-In

A lender's guarantee of an interest rate for a set period of time-usually between loan application approval and loan closing. The lock-in protects you against rate increases during that time.

LTV

See Loan To Value Ratio

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Manufactured Housing

Homes and dwellings that are not built at the home site and are moved to the location are considered manufactured housing. Manufactured housing units must be built on a permanent chassis at a factory and then transported to a permanent site and attached to a foundation. All manufactured homes must be built to meet standards set forth by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The standards focus on such aspects as design, strength, energy efficiency, and fire resistance.

Margin

The number of percentage points a lender adds to the index value to calculate the ARM interest rate at each adjustment period.

Market Value

The highest price a buyer would pay and the lowest price a seller would accept on a property. Market value may be different from the price a property could actually be sold for at a given time.

Marketable Title

A title that is free and clear of objectionable liens, clouds, or other title defects. A title which enables an owner to sell his property freely to others and which others will accept without objection.

Mechanics Lien

A lien created by state law for debts owed to a carpenter, contractor, plumber or other entity hired by the property�s titleholder for services performed or materials provided to repair or improve the property.

MIP (Mortgage Insurance Premium)

Insurance purchased by borrower to insure against default on government (FHA or VA) loans.

Monthly Mortgage Payment

A monthly mortgage payment typically contains four parts called the PITI (principal, interest, taxes, and insurance). If you pay your taxes and insurance on your own, you pay only principal and interest to your lender.

Mortgage

A loan secured by a lien on your home. In some states the term mortgage is also used to describe the document you sign to show that you have granted the lender a lien on your home; other states use a deed of trust document instead of a mortgage. It may also be used to indicate the amount of money you borrow, with interest, to purchase your house. The amount of your mortgage is usually the purchase price of the home minus your down payment.

Mortgage Banker

A non-depository financial institution that specializes in originating and servicing loans. They generally sell their loans to investors, but may continue to service them.


Mortgage Broker

A mortgage broker is one who arranges financing for a borrower by placing loans with lenders. Mortgage brokers are paid a fee by the borrower or the lender when the loan closes.

Mortgage Insurance

A contract that insures the lender against loss caused by a mortgagor's default on a government mortgage or conventional mortgage. Mortgage insurance can be issued by a private company or by a government agency such as the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). Depending on the type of mortgage insurance, the insurance may cover a percentage of or virtually all of the mortgage loan.

Mortgage Insurance Premium (MIP)

The amount paid by a mortgagor for mortgage insurance, either to a government agency such as the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) or to a private mortgage insurance (MI) company.

Mortgage Lender

The lender providing funds for a mortgage. Lenders also manage the credit and financial information review, the property and the loan application process through closing.

Mortgage Loan

A loan for which real estate serves as collateral to provide for repayment in case of default.

Mortgage Note

Legal document obligating a borrower to repay a loan at a stated interest rate during a specified period of time. The agreement is secured by a mortgage or deed of trust or other security instrument.

Mortgagee

The lender in a mortgage loan transaction.

Mortgagor

The borrower or homeowner.

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Negative Amortization

Occurs when your monthly payments are not large enough to pay all the interest due on the loan. This unpaid interest is added to the unpaid balance of the loan. The danger of negative amortization is that the home buyer ends up owing more than the original amount of the loan.

Net Effective Income

The borrower's gross income minus federal income tax.

Non Assumption Clause

A statement in a mortgage contract forbidding the assumption of the mortgage by another borrower without the prior approval of the lender.

Non-Conforming Loan

Also called a jumbo loan. Conventional home mortgages not eligible for sale and delivery to either Fannie Mae (FNMA) or Freddie Mac (FHLMC) because of various reasons, including loan amount, loan characteristics or underwriting guidelines. Non-conforming loans usually incur a rate and origination fee premium.

Note

An agreement containing an expressed and absolute promise of the signer to pay to a named person or bearer a definite sum of money at a specified date or on demand. Usually provides for interest, and if concerning real property, is secured by a mortgage or trust deed.

Note Rate

The interest rate stated on a mortgage note.

Notice of Default

A notice filed with a county records office to show that the borrower under a mortgage or deed of trust is in default.

Notice of Recision

Borrowers� signed acknowledgement that they wish to cancel their loan.

Notice of Right to Cancel

Under Regulation Z, customers must be notified they are entering into a transaction that will result in a lien against their primary residence. This document explains they have the right to cancel the transaction, at no cost, within 3 business days from the date of signing the closing documents on a loan.

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Occupancy Date

This provision is a good way to help ensure that your home will be ready for occupancy after the closing takes place. As part of your formal purchase offer, consider including a provision that holds the seller responsible for paying you rent should they not move out on or prior to the agreed-upon date. This allows you, for example, to use the money you receive to pay your own rent if you are leasing your current residence.

Offer

When you make an offer on a house, it means you are making a formal bid to buy a home. You can work with your real estate sales professional to put together a written bid that abides by the laws in your state. Your offer should include such aspects as the address of the home, the sales price, the type of mortgage financing you will use to purchase the home, any personal property that might be included as part of the sale, and a target date for closing and occupancy. An earnest money deposit typically accompanies the offer. Your real estate sales professional can provide guidance on other elements of the offer.

Once you have made an offer, the seller has the opportunity to accept, decline, or make a counter-offer. If your offer is accepted, you have a ratified sales contract. This contract is the starting point for working with an approved lender to get the mortgage that's right for you.

Offeree

One who receives the offer. When the buyer makes an offer to the seller the seller is an offeree.

Offeror

One who makes the offer. When the buyer makes an offer to the seller the buyer is an offeror.

Office of Comptroller of the Currency  

The oldest federal financial regulatory body, which oversees the nation's federally chartered banks.

Office of Thrift Supervision

Regulatory and supervisory agency for federally chartered savings institutions.

Origination Fee

The fee charged by a lender to prepare loan documents, run credit checks, inspect and sometimes appraise a property; usually computed as a percentage of the face value of the loan.

Owner Financing

A purchase in which the seller provides all or part of the financing.

Owner of Record

The individual named on a deed that has been recorded at the county recorders office.

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Package Mortgage

Mortgage covering both real and personal property.

Paper

A mortgage, deed of trust or land contract provided in lieu of cash.

Partial Release

A provision in a mortgage that allows some of the property secured to be freed from serving as collateral.

Participation Mortgage

A mortgage that allows the lender to share in part of the income or resale proceeds.

Pass Through Certificates

Interests in a pool of mortgages sold by mortgage bankers to investors. Money collected as monthly mortgage payments is distributed to those who own certificates.

Payment Cap

Consumer safeguards that limit the amount monthly payments on an adjustable-rate mortgage may change. Since they do not limit the amount of interest the lender is earning, they may cause negative amortization.

Payment Change Date

The date when a new monthly payment amount takes effect on an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) or a graduated-payment adjustable-rate mortgage (GPARM). Generally, the payment change date occurs in the month immediately after the adjustment date.

Payment Schedule

The method for disclosing your payment schedule varies by loan type. For fixed-rate loans, the payment schedule indicates what your required monthly payment will be throughout the life of your loan. The payment schedule for VA, FHA, one-time MIP and uninsured conventional loans should also indicate a fixed monthly payment. The payment schedule for fixed-rate insured loans may gradually decrease over time due to a declining insurance premium. For adjustable rate loans, the payment schedules will vary by loan type and are based on conservative assumptions of future interest rates.

Per Diem Interest

Interest calculated per day. Depending on the day of the month on which closing takes place, borrower pays interest from the date of closing to the end of the month. The first mortgage payment of a loan is generally due the first of the following month.

Periodic Cap

Consumer safeguard that limits the amount the interest rate on an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM) can change in an adjustment interval.

Permanent Loan

A long term mortgage of ten years or more.

Piggyback Loan

An alternative to private mortgage insurance, also known as a second trust loan. The most common type is an 80/10/10 where a first mortgage is taken out for 80% of the home�s value, a down payment of 10% is made and another 10% is financed in a second trust at a higher interest rate. In some cases, you may even qualify for a piggyback loan with as little as a 5% down payment

PITI

Abbreviation for Principal, Interest, Taxes and Insurance, the components of a monthly mortgage payment.

Planned Unit Development (PUD)

A planned unit development (PUD) is a project or subdivision that consists of common property and improvements that are owned and maintained by an owner's association for the benefit and use of the individual units within the project. For a project to qualify as a PUD, the owners' association must require automatic, non-severable membership for each individual unit owner, and provide for mandatory assessments.

Plat

A map or chart of a lot, subdivision or community drawn by a surveyor showing boundary lines, buildings, improvements on the land, and easements.

Pledged Account Mortgage (PAM)

Money is placed in a pledged savings account and this fund plus earned interest is gradually used to reduce mortgage payments.

Points (or Discount Points)

Points are an up-front fee paid to the lender at the time that you get your loan. Each point equals one percent of your total loan amount. Points and interest rates are inherently connected: in general, the more points you pay, the lower the interest rate you get. However, the more points you pay, the more cash you need up front since points are paid in cash at closing.

Power of Attorney

A legal document that authorizes another person to act on one's behalf. A power of attorney can grant complete authority or can be limited to certain acts and/or certain periods of time.

Pre-approval

The process of determining how much money a prospective homebuyer or refinancer will be eligible to borrow prior to application for a loan. A pre-approval includes a preliminary screening of a borrower's credit history. Information submitted during pre-approval is subject to verification at application.

Predatory Lending

Abusive lending practices that include making a mortgage loan to an individual who does not have the income to repay it or repeatedly refinancing a loan, charging high points and fees each time and "packing" credit insurance on to a loan.

Prepaid Expenses  

Taxes, insurance and assessments paid in advance of due dates.
Prepaid Interest

Interest charged to a borrower at closing to cover interest on the loan between closing and the end of the month in which the loan closes.

Prepayment

A privilege in a mortgage permitting the borrower to make payments in advance of their due date.

Prepayment Penalty

Money charged for an early repayment of debt. Prepayment penalties are allowed in some form (but not necessarily imposed) in many states.

Prequalification

The process of estimating how much money a prospective homebuyer will be eligible to borrow prior to application for a loan.

Primary Mortgage Market 

Includes banks, savings and loans, credit unions, and mortgage banks that make mortgage loans directly to borrowers. These lenders sometimes sell their mortgages to lenders such as FNMA in the secondary mortgage market.

Prime Rate

Lowest commercial interest rate charged by a bank on short-term loans to its most credit-worthy customers. Often used as an index for home equity lines of credit.

Principal

The amount of money borrowed to buy your house or the amount of the loan that has not yet been paid back to the lender. This does not include the interest you will pay to borrow that money. The principal balance (sometimes call the outstanding or unpaid principal balance) is the amount owed on the loan at any given time. It is the original loan amount minus the total repayments of principal you have made to date.

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)

In the event that you do not have a 20 percent down payment, lenders will allow a smaller down payment - as low as 5 percent in some cases. With the smaller down payment loans, however, borrowers are usually required to carry private mortgage insurance. Private mortgage insurance will usually require an initial premium payment and may require an additional monthly fee depending on your loan's structure.

Processed/Processing

The time between application and loan closing. During this time your loan processor, reviews your income and asset documentation, obtains a title insurance policy and clears any clouds on title, orders and reviews your property appraisal, obtains evidence of homeowners insurance, verifies the flood zone status of your property, and coordinates the signing and closing of the loan. This process typically takes 30 to 45 days.

Processing Fees

Fees paid to the lender to compensate for the administrative functions involved in preparing your loan for funding. These functions include reviewing your application, income, and assets, ordering and obtaining a clear title report and securing title insurance, coordinating with the closing agent, obtaining homeowners insurance verification, coordinating the appraisal, and others.

Promissory Note

A written promise by the borrower to pay a debt owed, within a specified time, to the holder of the note under conditions mutually agreed upon.

Property Taxes

The taxes assessed on the property by the local government (e.g. city, county, village or township) for the various services provided to the property owner. Such services may include police and fire department services, garbage pick up and snow removal.

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Qualifying Ratios

The ratio of your fixed monthly expenses to your gross monthly income, used to determine how much you can afford to borrow. The fixed monthly expenses would include PITI along with other obligations such as student loans, car loans, or credit card payments.

Quiet Title (Action)

A court action to settle a title dispute.

Quitclaim Deed

A deed which transfers whatever interest the maker of the deed may have in the particular parcel of land. A quitclaim deed is often given to clear the title when the grantor's interest in a property is questionable. By accepting such a deed the buyer assumes all the risks. Such a deed makes no warranties as to the title, but simply transfers to the buyer whatever interest the grantor has.

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Radon

A radioactive gas found in some homes that in sufficient concentrations can cause health problems.

Rate

In lending, the amount of interest on the loan expressed as an interest rate or annual percentage rate (APR) of the principal.

Rate Caps
Lenders offer caps with their adjustable rate mortgages (ARMs) so you can have more control over your monthly mortgage payment. Usually, there are two types of rate caps:
-- A per-adjustment cap, which specifies the most your interest rate can rise from one adjustment period to the next,

-- and a lifetime adjustment cap, which specifies how much your interest rate can rise over the life of your loan.

Rate Lock or Lock-In

A lender�s guarantee of an interest rate and related points for a set period of time, usually between loan application and loan closing. Protects borrower against rate increases during that time.

Ratified Sales Contract

A contract that shows both you and the seller of the house have agreed to your offer. This offer may include sales contingencies, such as obtaining a mortgage of a certain type and rate, getting an acceptable inspections, making repairs, closing by a certain date, and the like.

Real Estate Professional

An individual who provides services in buying and selling homes. The real estate professional is paid a percentage of the home sale price by the seller. Unless you have specifically contracted with a buyer's agent, the real estate professional represents the interest of the property seller. Real estate professionals may be able to refer you to local lenders or mortgage brokers, but are generally not involved in the lending process.

Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA)

A consumer protection law that requires lenders to give borrowers advance notice of closing costs.

Real Property

Land and all attachments to the land, such as buildings, crops or mineral rights. Ownership of real property can be divided into various types of interests and rights.

Reclamation

The right of the person with title to a property to recover it from the debtor in event of a bankruptcy.


Reconveyance

The transfer of property back to the owner when a mortgage is fully repaid.

Recording

The act of entering documents concerning title to a property into the public records.

Recording Fee

Money paid to a government agent for entering the sale of a property into the public records.

Recourse

The right of the holder of a note secured by a mortgage or deed of trust to claim money from the borrower in default in addition to the property pledged as a collateral.

Refinancing

The process of paying off one loan with the proceeds from a new loan secured by the same property.
Regulation Z (Reg Z)

A federal regulation requiring creditors to provide full disclosure of the terms of a loan including the terms of the loan and the annual percentage rate (APR).

Release of Lien

When a lien against the property is satisfied, the note holder records a document that reflects the discharge of the obligation and releases the lien recorded against the property.


Replacement Cost

The cost to replace damaged personal property without a deduction for depreciation.

Repossession (or Foreclosure) 

Legal process by which the lender forces the sale of a property because the borrower has not met the mortgage terms.

Residential Mortgage Credit Report (RMCR)

A report requested by your lender that utilizes information from at least two of the three national credit bureaus and information provided on your loan application.

RESPA 

See Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act.

Restrictive Covenants

Private restrictions limiting the use of real property. Restrictive covenants are created by deed and may "run with the land," binding all subsequent purchasers of the land, or may be "personal" and binding only between the original seller and buyer. The determination whether a covenant runs with the land or is personal is governed by the language of the covenant, the intent of the parties, and the law in the State where the land is situated. Restrictive covenants that run with the land are encumbrances and may affect the value and marketability of title. Restrictive covenants may limit the density of buildings per acre, regulate size, style or price range of buildings to be erected, or prevent particular businesses from operating or minority groups from owning or occupying homes in a given area. (This latter discriminatory covenant is unconstitutional and has been declared unenforceable by the U.S. Supreme Court.)

Reverse Annuity Mortgage (RAM)

A form of mortgage in which the lender makes periodic payments to the borrower using the borrower's equity in the home as security.

Right of First Refusal
A provision in an agreement that requires the owner of a property to give another party the first opportunity to purchase or lease the property before he or she offers it for sale or lease to others.

Right of survivorship
The right of a surviving joint tenant to acquire the interest of a deceased joint owner.

Right to Rescission
Under the provisions of the Truth-in-Lending Act, the borrower's right, on certain kinds of loans, to cancel the loan within three days of signing a mortgage.

Rollover Loan
A loan that is amortized over a long period of time (e.g. 30 years) but the interest rate is fixed for a short period (e.g. 5 years). The loan may be extended or rolled over, at the end of the shorter term, based on the terms of the loan.

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Sales Agreement

Contract signed by buyer and seller stating the terms and conditions under which a property will be sold.

Sale-Leaseback

A technique in which a seller deeds property to a buyer for a consideration, and the buyer simultaneously leases the property back to the seller.

Satisfaction

Discharge of an obligation by payment of the amount due, as on a mortgage, trust deed or contract or payment of a debt awarded, such as a satisfaction of a judgment.

Savings & Loan

Depository institutions that specialize in originating, servicing and holding mortgage loans primarily on owner occupied residential property.

Schedule A

A section of the Preliminary Title Report/Title Commitment that lists the name of the proposed insured, amount of title insurance, estate or interest in the land, how legal title is vested and the legal description of the property.

Schedule B

A section of the Preliminary Title Report/Title Commitment that lists exceptions to title if any.

Second Mortgage

An additional mortgage placed on a property that has rights that are subordinate to the first mortgage. A second mortgage is a lien in which you are given a lump sum amount that you pay off in installments over a specified period of time. Home improvement and debt consolidation loans are considered second mortgages.

Secondary Mortgage Market 

The market into which primary mortgage lenders sell the mortgages to obtain funds to originate more new loans. Includes investors like Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

Section 1031

The section of the IRS that deals with tax free exchanges of certain property. General rules for tax free exchanges are :

The properties must be :



  • Exchanged
  • Similar
  • Used for business or as an investment


Secured Debt

Money borrowed that is guaranteed (or secured) by the borrower's funds and held by the lender in an interest-bearing account. Typically required when a borrower is without credit or has poor credit. The lender usually returns the secured money plus a nominal rate of earned interest to the borrower with a certain period of time if a good credit history is established. Distinguished from unsecured debt.

Security Instrument

The security instrument is used to identify and encumber the real property used as collateral for the loan. It�s notarized and then recorded with the county in which the property is located. Once recorded, it secures an interest in, or lien against, the property. The security instrument used is state specific. Examples are, deed of trust, security deed, a trust deed or a mortgage.

Seller Take-Back

An agreement in which the owner of a property provides financing, often in combination with an assumable mortgage.  Also see "Owner Financing"

Servicing (or Loan Administration)  

The collection of mortgage payments from borrowers and related responsibilities (such as handling escrows for property tax and insurance, foreclosing on defaulted loans and remitting payments to investors).

Settlement (or Closing)

The settlement or closing is the conclusion of your real estate transaction. It includes the delivery of your security instrument, signing of your legal documents and the disbursement of the funds necessary to the sale of your home or loan transaction (refinance).

Settlement Costs

Also known as closing costs, these costs are for services that must be performed to process and close your loan application. Examples include title fees, recording fees, appraisal fee, credit report fee, pest inspection, attorney's fees, taxes, and surveying fees.

Settlement Sheet

The HUD-1 Settlement Statement itemizes the amounts to be paid by the buyer and the seller at closing. The (blank) form is published by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Items on the statement include:

  • Real Estate Commissions
  • Loan Fees
  • Points
  • Escrow Amounts


The form is filled out by your closing agent and must be signed by the buyer and the seller. The buyer should be allowed to review the HUD-1 Settlement Statement on the business day before the closing meeting to know the closing costs in advance.  The HUD-1 Settlement Statement is also known as the "closing statement" or "settlement sheet."

Shared Appreciation Mortgage (SAM)

A mortgage in which a borrower receives a below-market interest rate in return for which the lender (or another investor such as a family member or other partner) receives a portion of the future appreciation in the value of the property. May also apply to mortgage where the borrowers shares the monthly principal and interest payments with another party in exchange for part of the appreciation.

Signing Fee

Fee paid to a notary or signing service to execute your loan documents.

Simple Interest

Interest that is paid on the principal amount borrowed. Considered the best interest term for a borrower because it is not compounded.

Site Condominium

A detached single-family dwelling characterized as a site condominium by the way it is platted by the builder, however it is still considered a condominium.

Special Assessment

A special tax imposed on property, individual lots or all property in the neighborhood to pay for improvements - street lights, sidewalks, etc.

Special Warranty Deed

A deed in which the grantor conveys title to the grantee and agrees to protect the grantee against title defects or claims asserted by the grantor and those persons whose right to assert a claim against the title arose during the period the grantor held title to the property. In a special warranty deed the grantor guarantees to the grantee that he has done nothing during the time he held title to the property which has, or which might in the future, impair the grantee's title.

Start Rate  

The interest rate that you pay on your outstanding balance for the introductory period, which is typically 90 days.

Stated/Documented Income

Some loan products require only that applicants "state" the source of their income without providing supporting documentation such as tax returns.

Structural Improvements

A "Structural Improvement" is any permanent improvement made to your property that is not strictly for decorating purposes. Examples include: additions, new flooring, kitchen or bathroom upgrades, new windows and central air. Swimming pools are considered structural improvements only if they are in ground and your property is in a year round warm weather climate.

Subdivision

A tract of land divided into lots suitable for home building purposes.

Subordinate

A lien taking a legal title position junior to another lien that recorded later. For example, if a mortgage lien recorded in 1996, it can subordinate to a lien recorded in 1999. Subordination may apply not only to mortgages, but also to leases, real estate rights and any other type of debt instruments.

Subordination Agreement

An agreement by which a lienholder agrees to accept a lien position junior to that of a later-recorded lien. For example, when a lienholder agrees to subordinate, a formal agreement must be drawn, signed and recorded to make it a legal transaction. Subordinations may apply not only to mortgages, but also to leases, real estate rights and any other types of debt interests.

Subsidized Second Mortgage

Alternative financing option for low and moderate-income households that also includes a down payment and a first mortgage, with funds for the second mortgage provided by city, county, or state housing agencies, foundations, or nonprofit corporations. Payment on the second mortgage is often deferred and carries a low interest rate (if any). Part of the debt may be forgiven for each year the family remains in the home.

Survey

A print showing the measurements of the boundaries of a parcel of land, together with the location of all improvements on the land and sometimes its area and topography.

Sweat Equity

Value added to a property due to improvements made personally by the owner.

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Takeout Financing

A commitment to provide permanent financing upon completion of construction. The take out loan normally pays off the construction loan.

Tax

As applied to real estate, an enforced charge imposed on persons, property or income, to be used to support the State. The governing body in turn utilizes the funds in the best interest of the general public.

Tax Assessed Value

The Tax Assessed Value (TAV) is the dollar amount assigned to your property for the purposes of taxation. The TAV is not necessarily the market value of your home, but the TAV will take into consideration your home's market value, as well other factors, including your property's tax class, maintenance costs, home improvements, etc. The TAV is established by the county's tax assessor who utilizes features such as sales prices from surrounding properties, location, condition and age of the property to determine the TAV.

Tax Impound

Money paid to and held by a lender for annual tax payments.

Tax Lien

Claim against a property for unpaid taxes.

Tax Sale

Public sale of property by a government authority as a result of non-payment of taxes.

Teaser Rate

A low initial interest rate on a mortgage.

Tenancy by the Entirety

A form of ownership by husband and wife whereby each holds title to the entire property with right of survivorship. In the event of the death of one, the survivor takes the entire property to the exclusion of the deceased's heirs.

Tenancy in Common

A form of holding title in which the property is owned by 2 or more persons whereby each tenant holds an undivided interest in the property and no right of survivorship.

Tenancy in Severalty

Ownership of property by one person.

Term

The period of time which covers the life of the loan. For example, a 30 year fixed loan has a term of 30 years.

Third Party Fees

Fees paid to a third party for services requested by the lender on your behalf.

Time Share

A form of property ownership under which a property is held by a number of people, each with the right of possession for a specified time interval. Time sharing is used mostly for vacation properties.

Title

Document that gives evidence of ownership of a property. Also indicates the rights of ownership and possession of the property. Individuals who will have legal ownership in the property are considered "on title" and will sign the mortgage and other documentation.

Title Company

A company that insures title to property.

Title Company Closing Fee

This fee is paid to the title insurance company that conducts your closing and handles the transfer of funds among the parties.

Title Insurance

A policy, usually issued by a title insurance company, which insures a home buyer against errors in the title search. The cost of the policy is usually a function of the value of the property, and is often borne by the purchaser and/or seller. Policies are also available to protect the lender's interests.

Title Search

An investigation into the history of ownership of a property to check for liens, unpaid claims, restrictions or problems, to prove that the seller can transfer free and clear ownership.

Town House

Residence which normally has 2 or more floors and is attached to other similar units. Town houses are commonly found in planned unit developments (PUDs) and condominiums.

Tract

A parcel of land, generally held for subdividing.

Transfer Tax

Tax paid to the city, county, state or other government entity upon sale of a property.

Treasury Index

An index that is used to determine interest rate changes for certain adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) plans. It is based on the results of auctions that the U.S. Treasury holds for its Treasury bills and securities or is derived from the U.S. Treasury's daily yield curve, which is based on the closing market bid yields on actively traded Treasury securities in the over-the-counter market.

Triple-Net Lease

One in which the tenant pays all operating expense of the property. The landlord receives the net rent.

Trust Account

A separate bank account maintained by a broker or escrow company to handle all money collected for clients. A broker may not commingle these funds with his/her own funds.

Trust Deed

An instrument used in many states in place of a mortgage. Grants an interest in the property as collateral for a loan and, when recorded with the county, creates a lien having priority over later-filed mortgages or trust deeds. Same as Deed of Trust.

A party who is given legal responsibility to hold property in the best interest of or "for the benefit of" another. The trustee is one placed in a position of responsibility for another, a responsibility enforceable in a court of law.

Truth-In-Lending

A federal law requiring disclosure of the Annual Percentage Rate to home buyers shortly after they apply for the loan. Also known as Regulation Z.

Two-Step Mortgage

The Two-Step Mortgage is a special type of adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) that adjusts only once. Depending on whether you select a five-year or seven-year Two-Step Mortgage, your interest rate will adjust once at the end of either five or seven years. Then, your interest rate stays the same for the remaining 25 or 23 years of your 30-year loan.

Underwriting

The decision whether to make a loan to a potential home buyer based on credit, employment, assets, and other factors, and the matching of this risk to an appropriate rate and term or loan amount.

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Undivided Interest

An ownership right to use and possess a property that is shared among co-owners, with no one co-owner having exclusive rights to any portion of the property.

Unencumbered Property

Real estate with free and clear title.

Uniform Residential Appraisal Report (URAR)

The most common appraisal form in use. The URAR is used to document the methods used to determine the market value of single-family residences and planned unit developments.

Unimproved Property

Land that has received no development.

Unrecorded Deed

A document that transfers title from the grantor to the grantee without recording (i.e. providing public notice).

Usury

Interest charged in excess of the legal rate established by law.

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VA Loans

Fixed-rate loans guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. They are designed to make housing affordable for eligible U.S. veterans. VA loans are available to veterans, reservists, active-duty personnel, and surviving spouses of veterans with 100% entitlement. Eligible veterans may be able to purchase a home with no down payment, no cash reserve, no application fee, and lower closing costs than other financing options.

VA Mortgage Funding Fee

A premium of up to 2 percent (depending on the size of the down payment) paid on a VA-backed loan. On a $75,000 30-year fixed-rate mortgage with no down payment, this would amount to $1,406 either paid at closing or added to the amount financed.

Variable Interest Rate

An interest rate that fluctuates as a result of changes in a controlling index rate . With adjustable-rate mortgages, there are usually maximums as to the frequency and amount of fluctuation.

Variable Rate Mortgage

See Adjustable Rate Mortgage.

Verification of Deposit (VOD)

Document signed by the borrower's bank or other financial institution verifying the borrower's account balance and history.

Verification of Employment (VOE)

Document signed by the borrower's employer verifying the borrower's position and salary.

Verification of Mortgage (VOM)

Documentation that establishes the customer�s mortgage payment history.

Vested

Having the right to use a portion of a fund such as an individual retirement fund. For example, individuals who are 100 percent vested can withdraw all of the funds that are set aside for them in a retirement fund. However, taxes may be due on any funds that are actually withdrawn.

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W-2

A document that reports to the Federal government income earned by salaried employees. This document reports employees� total gross and withholdings made during the previous tax year. Employers must mail W-2s by January 31 of each year for the prior tax year.

Waiver

Relaxing a requirement pertaining to the eligibility of a loan. Waivers may include permitting less documentation than would otherwise be required.

Walk-through

A final inspection of a home to check for problems that may need to be corrected before closing.

Warehousing

Mortgage bankers and other financial institutions make loans that are then periodically sold on the secondary market. After the loan is made but before it is sold - the loan is said to be in the lenders warehouse.

Warranty Deed

A deed used in many states to convey fee title to real property. A deed in which the grantor or seller warrants or guarantees good title is being conveyed as opposed to a quitclaim deed that contains no representation or warranty as to the quality of title being conveyed.

Wraparound Mortgage

Results when an existing assumable loan is combined with a new loan, resulting in an interest rate somewhere between the old rate and the current market rate. The payments are made to a second lender or the previous homeowner, who then forwards the payments to the first lender after taking the additional amount off the top.

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Yield Spread Premium

Also known as "YSP" or rebate, it is the cash rebate paid to a mortgage broker based on selling an interest rate above the wholesale par rate that the borrower qualifies for.

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Zero Lot Line

A form of housing where individual units are on separate lots, but are attached to one another. Example : PUD, townhouse.

Zoning

Areas may be zoned to specify use of a property i.e. residential, commercial, agricultural. These zoning ordinances are normally enforced by the city or the county.